## Interim Report of the Investigative Committee - February 22, 2006

The Investigative Committee formed to investigate certain allegations of research misconduct made against Professor Ward Churchill hereby submits this interim report, as required by the University of Colorado Administrative Policy Statement on Misconduct in Research and Authorship.

The Investigative Committee was formed by the University of Colorado's Standing Committee on Research Misconduct (SCRM) on October 24, 2005. The members of the Investigative Committee consisted of Professors Marianne (Mimi) Wesson (chair); Marjorie McIntosh; and Michael Radelet (all of the University of Colorado); Professor Bruce Johansen (University of Nebraska, Omaha) and Professor Robert Williams (University of Arizona). At that time, the Committee commenced its investigation of the allegations referred to it by the SCRM.

On November 7, 2005, Professors Williams and Johansen resigned from the Committee. This resulted in a somewhat lengthy search for two new members and a consequent delay in the work of the Committee. The two new members, Professor Robert Clinton (Arizona State University) and Professor José Limón (University of Texas) formally joined the Committee in early January and the reconstituted committee commenced its investigation on January 11, 2006.

The Committee is proceeding diligently in its review and examination of the allegations. It has met several times and has heard from very helpful expert witnesses. It anticipates hearing from additional witnesses knowledgeable about the allegations forwarded by the administration and Professor Churchill's position regarding those allegations. It expects to thoroughly summarize the results of its investigation in its final report to the SCRM. The rules require that we seek an extension of time if our work requires longer than 120 days from the commencement of our investigation. Because of the complex nature and large number of the allegations, and the delay in finally assembling the Committee, the Committee requires such an extension of time. We hope to complete our report by May 9, 2006, although we cannot be certain this will be possible. If we do require another extension, I will make another formal request for it.

Respectfully submitted, Marianne Wesson, Chair